Skip to main content

Northwood High School Library Home Page: A-Z Online Databases

NHS Home Page

Click on database image (in alphabetical order) to go directly to subscribed database.

*For at-home access, refer to the Online Resources WS or contact the media specialist.

A

Description: A free, 24/7 chat service for Maryland residents and students. Partners with Maryland libraries to find answers to questions and provide research guidance. Select your library (or nearest library) and get connected now. 

B

Description: Animated movies, learning games, interactive quizzes, primary source activities, concept mapping, and more. Includes BrainPOP Jr. (K-3), BrainPOP, BrainPOP Español, BrainPOP Français, and BrainPOP ESL (for English language learners). They cover topics within Science, Math, Social Studies, English Language Arts, Technology, Engineering, Arts, Music, Health, Reading, and Writing.

Britannica Databases:

Description: The rich combination of the insightful Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster’s Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many other research tools provides reliable sources needed to consult when conducting thorough research.  

Description: Explore the rich and varied American history through primary sources such as speeches, historical accounts, memoirs, poems, images and multimedia.

Description: Spanish encyclopedia, images, videos, and Spanish language learning materials.

Description: Access more than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world.

Description: Comprehensive Spanish language encyclopedia available today. It features 145,000 articles plus timelines, an atlas, and a dictionary.

Description: Offers quick access to reliable, comprehensive info with more than 150,000 articles and 30,000 images in Japanese.

Description: Three encyclopedias in one: Encyclopaedia Britannica, Compton’s by Britannica and Britannica Elementary. You can choose in which level to begin your search, but can also search across all three levels.

Description: Valuable resource for all French language students. There is access to more than 38,000 articles including exclusive articles weekly and monthly dossiers to understand the issues and problems of our times; 25,000 media items; a world atlas with over 1400 maps; an integrated dictionary with 120,000 entries; and a guide to selected Web sites.

Description: Created in collaboration with American and French education experts, provides a fresh look at a wide array of topics such as history, geography, science, and technology. In this engaging learning environment, French-language students will be challenged with progressively more complex vocabulary.

Description: Britannica Webster’s Third New International Dictionary Unabridged. Largest, and most comprehensive, American dictionary.

Description: Students can create "current comparisons" of countries based on a large list of data points, including "chronological comparisons," which compares changes over time up to 90 years.

D

*Use your Google Apps username (studentID#@mcpsmd.net) and password to access

Description: Plethora of resources for both students and staff, such as interactive games, videos, contests, virtual labs and activities designed to help you dive deeper into a topic.

E

EBSCO databases:

Auto Repair Reference Center - Provides an illustrated auto repair manuals on all auto repair procedures for vehicles), Technical Service Bulletins;, wiring diagrams, drawings , step-by-step photographs, and labor time guide and estimates.

EBSCO Research Databases - Provides ability to search many databases at once for coverage of current events, primary source documents, and film and video from books, encyclopedias, newspapers, magazines and government reports.

Explora Secondary Schools - Connects curriculum standards for educators and provides subject tags for navigation ease with pictures. Covers current events, primary source documents, and film and video from books, encyclopedias, newspapers, magazines and government reports.

History Reference Center - Includes more than 300 reference books & encyclopedias; 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies; and more than 100,000 images and historical maps.

Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center - Provides detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby enthusiast. Includes  full-text articles from leading hobby and craft magazines along with hundreds of how-to videos and thousands of recipes.

Home Improvement Reference Center - ​Features full-text content from leading home improvement books and magazines, images not found anywhere else online, and how-to videos of popular home repair projects.

MasterFILE Premier - Provides searchable full text for over 1,700 publications dating as far back as 1975. Also included are nearly 500 full text reference books and an Image Collection of over 400,000 photos, maps and flags.

MAS Ultra - School Edition - Contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines, provides more than 360 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, over 107,000 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 510,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.

Science Reference Center - Includes science periodicals, reference books, encyclopedias, essays, biographies, animations, images and videos. Supports all science disciplines.

Small Engine Repair Reference Center - ​Offers detailed, yet user-friendly repair guides for all types of small engines. Whether you are looking to do routine maintenance, such as tune-ups and brake service, or more extensive repairs to engines and transmissions, this is the database for you. 

F

FACTS ON FILE (Infobase Learning)​:

Classroom Video On Demand - Offers thousands of top-quality videos and clips across the entire high school curriculum, including life skills and guidance.

Issues & Controversies - Provides exclusive, extensive coverage of hundreds of today's hot topics, with unbiased analysis and rich related resources.

Issues & Controversies in American History - Builds a deeper understanding of how historical events have shaped our nation by exploring the key players and the battles they fought.

G

GALE databases:

Biography in Context - Database for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. It merges Gale's authoritative reference content (including Lives & Perspectives) with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (includes eBooks) - Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. Content varies by school based on eBook collection.

Global Issues in Context - Offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context - Covers today’s social issues  by bringing together resources including pro-con viewpoint articles, topic overviews, primary source documents, biographies of social activists and reformers, court-case overviews, profiles of federal agencies and special interest groups.

Student Resources In Context - Database of primary documents, biographies, topical essays, critical analysis, full-text coverage of newspapers and periodicals. 

U.S. History In Context - Contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in U.S. History. Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

J

**Create a MyJSTOR account for additional features like organizing by folders.**

Description: Provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

M

Description: More databases at your fingertips! Apply for a personal library card to take advantage of all the features. Select "Research" from the top menu bar, then "All Electronic Resources" to access the county's online databases.  

N

*Use your Google Apps username and password to access

Description: Online bibliography (Works Cited) composer and note taking tool. 

See below for video tutorials on the following NoodleTools issues:

  • How do I set up a collaboration with my teammates (student to student)?
  • ​How do I copy and paste a pre-formatted citation?  
  • How do I export my sources page (Works Cited) to MS Word or Google Docs?

P

ProQuest databases:

CultureGrams - Up-to-date information on 182 countries and cultures. Twenty-five categories are tracked including history, land and climate, religion, personal appearance, gestures, language, government, family, dating and marriage.

ProQuest Learning: Literature - Where students come for the latest word on the authors they study in class and read at home!

ProQuest Research Library Prep - More than 4,000 periodicals from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 academic disciplines.

Description: Delivers thousands of relevant primary and secondary source documents organized around the decades of the 20th century, providing the context needed to understand the modern implications of historical events.

Description: Database includes carefully selected full-text articles and images from more than 1,600 domestic and international newspapers, magazines, government documents, and websites.

Description: Includes SIRS Researcher, a periodical database, with a link to SIRS Pro/Con for research on important issues. Also included in SIRS Knowledge Source are the following: SIRS Renaissance, current perspectives on the arts and humanities; SIRS Web Select, a student search engine with editorially-selected websites; SIRS Interactive Citizenship, interactive books on U.S. citizenship. 

S

Description: Offering more than 50 complete units of study with over 6,500 science-related assets in a variety of media, ScienceFlix provides students with a better understanding of science concepts and ideas through hands-on projects, videos, multiple text types, interactive features and more.

T

Description: Unique service that provides up close and personal interviews with some of the most loved and respected young adult authors. 

 
Description: Rosen Digital database offering articles correlated to state, national, and provincial standards, including Common Core Health and Science. Topics covered include diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, mental health, suicide, bullying, LGBTQ issues, and more.

Description: Online database of eBooks and educator resources with a robust selection of Graphic Novels, Enhanced Novels, eBooks, classic literature, National Geographic videos, and audiobooks. The collection is available online around the clock. No downloads, no waiting! If you can access the Internet, you can be reading, watching, or listening to fantastic content.

Description: Search by categories or an index to find a large selection of online books with a read-aloud function, music, and large navigation buttons to stop/pause. Includes bilingual titles and games/puzzles.